Meet your Councillors


    Charles Coats

    Charlie has served on the Highnam Parish Council since 2015, and has lived in the Parish for forty years.

    Charlie has a background in local government and has used this experience extensively during recent issues arising from major planning applications. Charlie is working on the implementation of The Parish Plan 2017 refresh, coordinates the council’s planning and development work, and is working on improving communications and public relations strategies. He is also leading the rewriting of the Neighbourhood Development Plan, designing a new future for the village.

    14 Stoneyfield, Highnam

    Tel 01452 503748 Mobile 07880 741624



      Nick Cook

      • Tel: 01452 500415
      • Representing: Vice Chairman

        Jill Smith and Borough Councillor

        Jill has lived in Lassington/Highnam for 33 years. Past career was in the NHS, initially as an Occupational Therapist, then moving into Team Management, a Project Manager and Service experience Manager. Jill believes that the Parish Council is there to work with the people, for the people in the village.
        Jill was also elected as Tewkesbury Borough Councillor in 2019 for the Highnam and Haw Bridge Ward, and serves on may committees on the Borough Council.
        Address is Astmans Farm, Lassington Lane
        Tel ;01452 524938
        • Tel: 01452 524938
        • Representing: Borough Councillor
        • Email

          Bill Badham

          Bill Badham has lived in Highnam since September 2015 and retired from Royal Mail in May 2018  He wanted to become more involved in village affairs.

          Bill has taken on the role of Footpath Warden and is also taking over the lead on Speed Monitoring in the village.

          He is a member of the Environmental working party on the Parish Plan Refresh, and interested in Wild Highnam and Highnam Hikers.

          His  residential address is 4 Micklemead, Highnam, GL2 8NF


            Bill Nicol

            Bill Nicol has lived in Highnam since 1980.  He has three sons who all attended Highnam Primary School (now Academy), and went on to Newent Community School.  He has worked for Gloucestershire County Council since 1988, in the Business Service Centre.  He takes on the role of Presiding Officer at local elections for either Forest of Dean or Tewkesbury Councils.

            He has interests in live music, investing and reading, and was a founder member of the now defunct Highnam Garden Club.

            Bills Residential address is:  15 Farthing Croft

              Russ Bailey

              Cllr Russell (Russ) Bailey

              I have lived in Highnam for over 25 years now and love the village. My wife and I have bought up 4 children who all have full time professional jobs.

              I’ve worked for a Gloucester pharmaceutical manufacturing company for 23 years 18 of which I have been one of the company pension trustee.

              I was a parent nominated school governor at Newent Community School where my children attended.

              I’m 65 years old in August and thinking I will have more time on my hands in retirement and will be able to give something back to the parish.

                  Mark McGillion

                  Awaiting Update


                      Wendy Barnard Parish Clerk and Responsible Finance Officer

                      • Tel: 07851 193851
                      • Representing: Highnam Parish
                      • Email